Hot NewsTrending

World Test Championship: The Ultimate Test

The ICC World Test Championship is a league competition for Test cricket run by the International Cricket Council (ICC), which started on 1 August 2019. It is intended to be the premier championship for Test cricket. It is in line with the ICC’s goal of having one pinnacle tournament for each of the three formats of international cricket.

The original plans to hold the competition in 2013, replacing the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, were abandoned. It was rescheduled for June 2017, with a second Test championship to take place in India in Feb-March 2021. The top four ranked teams on 31 December 2016 – the cut-off date set by the ICC – would play the three-match Test championship. There would have been two semi-finals and the winners play the final. However, in January 2014 the ICC World Test Championship was cancelled and the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy was reinstated.

Also Read: Live Score of WTC Final

In October 2017, the ICC announced that a Test league had been agreed by its members, which would involve the top nine teams playing series over two years with the top two teams qualifying for a World Test League Championship Final. The first ICC World Test Championship started after the 2019 Cricket World Cup from 1 August 2019, with the Ashes series. The second ICC World Test Championship will run from July 2021 to June 2023.

The first ever World Test Championship Final.

New Zealand and India will lock horns in the World Test Championship final, starting June 18 at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton.The venue last hosted the third Test between England and Pakistan in August 2020.Notably, India lost the last Test they played at this venue, to England.We take a look at the ground report and stats ahead of the finale clash.

Also Read: Live Score of WTC Final

A look at the pitch report

The Ageas Bowl curator recently revealed that the wicket here will offer pace, swing, and bounce.This could make life difficult for batsmen initially.It is also understood that Southampton might have overcast weather on most days of the final.As a result, the seamers will be in action throughout the match.Spin could come into play as the match progresses.

Here are the ground stats

The Ageas Bowl has hosted a total number of six Test matches to date.India have lost both their match at this venue. Notably, England defeated them by 266 runs in 2014.Meanwhile, New Zealand are yet to play a Test here.The average innings scores at this venue are, 1st: 337, 2nd: 280, 3rd: 262, 4th: 187.

Also Read: Live Score of WTC Final

Virat Kohli leads the runs tally

Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer for India at The Ageas Bowl.He has scored 171 runs from two Tests at an average of 42.75, here.The tally includes one 50+ score.His compatriot Ajinkya Rahane follows Kohli on the tally with 168 runs.Notably, Cheteshwar Pujara is the only Indian batsman to have slammed a ton in Southampton (132* in 2018).


Most wickets for India in Southampton

Mohammed Shami has taken the most Test wickets for India at The Ageas Bowl.He has snapped up seven wickets from two Tests with the best match haul of 6/108.Shami is the only Indian bowler to have played more than one Test at this venue.The likes of Ravindra Jadeja (5), Jasprit Bumrah (4), and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (4) follow Shami on the tally.

Also Read: Live Score of WTC Final

The winners of the much-awaited ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final between India and New Zealand will take home a purse of $ 1.6 million (Approx.. 11861280 INR) along with the ICC Test Championship Mace.

world test championship


India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Hanuma Vihari, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Will Young, Tom Blundell.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off the Adblocking plugins if installed any to continue using our website.