Tokyo Paralympics 2020: Indian squad who will compete in Tokyo

Also Read – The most beautiful airports in India

India recorded its best-ever medal haul at the 2016 Rio Paralympics – four medals, including two golds – and will now be looking to match that haul with 54 athletes competing across 22 different games.


  • The Tokyo Paralympics will be held from August 28 to September 5
  • India is sending its largest contingent ever with 54 para-athletes to compete in nine sporting games.
  • Rio 2016 gold medallist  Mariyappan Thangavelu will be India’s flag bearer in the opening ceremony

Now, new beginnings are set to take place, as the 2020 Paralympics get set to kick-off from August 24.

The Tokyo Paralympics will comprise of 593 events across 22 disciplines to be hosted across 21 venues. India will be sending its largest contingent ever with 54 para athletes to compete in nine sporting disciplines. 2016 Rio Paralympics gold medalist in the men’s high jump Mariyappan Thangavelu will be India’s flag bearer in the opening ceremony.

India’s previous largest-ever contingent for the Paralympics was at Rio 2016 – where 19 athletes represented the country in five sports. It ended up being India’s best-ever performance at a Summer Paralympics with a total of four medals – two golds, one silver and one bronze.

The selection of all athletes for Tokyo 2020 was carried out during a two-day trial at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium by the Paralympic Committee of India’s (PCI) selection committee, chaired by president and Rio 2016 silver medallist Deepa Malik.

We had to make some really bold decisions with regards to the welfare of the athletes. There was a difficult time in getting the trials done, to be able to make the SOP; we want to thank the Sports Authority of India. Secretary sir personally overlooked the arrangements at the JLN Stadium.

The team representing India comprises the following Para atheletes:

Men: Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh and Sundar Singh Gurjar (javelin F-46); Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (javelin F-64); Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar and Varun Singh Bhatti (high jump T-63); Amit Kumar and Dharambir (club throw F-51); Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (high jump T-47); Sonam Rana (shot put F-57), Navdeep (javelin F-41), Praveen Kumar (high jump T-64), Yogesh Kathuniya (discus throw F-56), Vinod Kumar (discus throw F-56), Ranjeet Bhati (javelin F-57), Arvind (shot put F-35), Tek Chand (javelin F-54).

Women: Ekta Bhyan and Kashish Lakra (club throw F-51); Bhagyashri Jadhav (shot put F-34), Simran (100m T-13).

Cheers for Team india and hope for the best in this Paralympics.

Reference :-

The content in the above article is researched , published and managed by Content Team at Dealicopter. Please mailto for any queries.

Share with your friends or on social media platforms.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off the Adblocking plugins if installed any to continue using our website.